DIFF IWC Filmmaker Awards

IWC Schaffhausen and DIFF Declare Third IWC Filmmaker Award Open for Submissions

The Swiss luxury watch manufacturer IWC Schaffhausen, the Official ‘Festival-Time’ Partner of the Dubai International Film Festival (DIFF), recently announced that submissions are now open for the highly anticipated third IWC Filmmaker Award. The award includes a cash prize of USD 100,000, which will help the winning filmmaker bring their ideas to life on screen.


Entries for the third IWC Filmmaker Award can now be made online at www.dubaifilmfest.com and will close on August 1, 2014. Three submissions will be shortlisted by an independent jury in October 2014, and IWC will present the award to the winner during the 11th Dubai International Film Festival, which will be held from 10 to 17 December 2014. Academy Award winner and IWC friend of the brand Cate Blanchett, who headed the IWC Filmmakers Jury for two consecutive years, presented last year’s award to Emirati filmmaker Waleed Al Shehhi for his “Dolphins” project.

 “We’re pleased to strengthen our ties with the Dubai International Film Festival and return as the Festival’s Official ‘Festival­Time’ Partner for the fourth consecutive year,” commented Karoline Huber, Brand Director IWC Middle East and India. “This collaboration reinforces IWC’s global commitment to promoting the filmmaking industry and supporting the most promising young talent in cinema. IWC is extremely enthusiastic about continuing its contribution to local storytelling in this region, as there are just so many beautiful stories to be told.”


DIFF Chairman and Member of the IWC Filmmakers Jury, Abdulhamid Juma, added: “The IWC Filmmaker Award is dedicated to supporting talented filmmakers from the Gulf region and providing them with the resources which will enable them to realize their visions. The scripts we received in previous years have truly set a benchmark in artistic innovation, and it is a real honor to be able to play a role in developing these projects. It gives us great pleasure to open the submission period for this award, and to continue celebrating outstanding filmmaking and emerging talent in the region for a third year.”