Vocals; Born: May 10, 1960



Guitar; Born: August 8, 1961



Bass; Born: March 13, 1960



Drums; Born: October 31, 1961


Who are they?

U2 has been perhaps the biggest music act in the world since the late 1980s to the current day. They take prominent stands on human rights issues, expressed through their lyrics and other public statements and actions. The band’s lead singer, Bono, has become quite prominent in charity movements and has been nominated for the Nobel Peace Prize. The band consists of Bono, lead singer and songwriter; The Edge, lead guitar, keyboards, vocals; Adam Clayton, bass guitar; Larry Mullen Jr., drums. Their manager is Paul McGuinness.


Soaring success

The band’s popular 1983 song “Sunday Bloody Sunday” commemorated the slaughter of innocent civilians during the Irish troubles. It called for a renunciation of violence, a sentiment that resonated greatly with the people of Ireland. Throughout the 1980s, the band used this song to campaign against the Irish Republican Army’s (IRA) efforts to raise money to fuel continued armed conflict. The IRA sent a threat to U2 that if they continued their campaign, they would be kidnapped. The band continued anyway. The band’s 1984 album “Unforgettable Fire” was named after paintings made by the survivors of the Hiroshima and Nagasaki atomic bombs. The album’s songs “Pride” and “MLK” were both tributes to the modern-day leader they most admire, Martin Luther King. Another song, “Bad”, was about heroin addiction, which was a serious problem in their hometown of Dublin at that time.


How did they get started?

The band formed in Dublin, Ireland, in 1976. The three members who strongly identified themselves as Christians (all except Clayton) decided to pursue and promote the band’s career in a manner that would be consistent with their religious beliefs, which are heavy on social action. Theology professor Eugene Peterson says the band has “little patience with media-driven aspects of the Christian religion and a church and culture that shows little concern for justice and poverty and sickness”.


Latest news

U2 continues their work for charity and social action. They promoted the Northern Ireland Peace Accords, raised money for the survivors of the Omagh bombing, played in devastated Sarajevo following the war there, helped bolster the shaky economy of New York City by playing there following the September 11 terrorist attacks, participated in the Live 8 series of concerts to relieve Third World debt, and continue to promote the Make Poverty History campaign. Bono has become prominent in efforts to end poverty and seek relief from AIDS and promote trade for Africa. He has become quite celebrated for these efforts apart from his music and he often finds himself publicly hobnobbing with presidents and finance ministers to promote these charitable ends. U2 was inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame in 2005. By that year, they had won 22 Grammy awards, a historic record surpassed only by Stevie Wonder. Via IMDb Mini Biography By Roger Burns



U2’s latest studio album Songs Of Innocence, containing 11 new tracks, was recently released by Island Records. The release follows the album being given today to U2.com subscribers and gifted by Apple to over half a billion iTunes Music Store customers worldwide.


Songs of Innocence is U2’s most personal work to date, charting the band’s earliest influences from 70s rock and punk rock to early 80s electronica and ambient music and giving insight into how and why the band came together. The album deals with themes of home and family, relationships and discovery and was recorded in Dublin, London, New York and Los Angeles and is produced by Danger Mouse, along with Paul Epworth, Ryan Tedder, Declan Gaffney and Flood.

The track listing for Songs Of Innocence is as follows:

• The Miracle (of Joey Ramone)

• Every Breaking Wave

• California (There Is No End To Love)

• Song For Someone

• Iris (Hold Me Close)

• Volcano

• Raised By Wolves

• Cedarwood Road

• Sleep Like A Baby Tonight

• This Is Where You Can Reach Me Now

• The Troubles


In addition, a deluxe version of Songs Of Innocence will be released on 13th October, which will contain an acoustic session of select songs from the album plus four additional tracks:

• Lucifer’s Hands

• The Crystal Ballroom

• The Troubles (Alternative version)

• Sleep Like A Baby Tonight

(Alternative Perspective Mix by Tchad